Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

God’s Sanctuary 012911

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

God’s Sanctuary 012911

 

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net (under construction)

 

Meditation and thoughts follow the scripture.

 

Psalm 15

Micah 3:1-4

John 13:31-35

 

Psalm 15

Who Shall Abide in God’s Sanctuary?

A Psalm of David.
1 O Lord, who may abide in your tent?
Who may dwell on your holy hill?
2 Those who walk blamelessly, and do what is right,
and speak the truth from their heart;
3 who do not slander with their tongue,
and do no evil to their friends,
nor take up a reproach against their neighbours;
4 in whose eyes the wicked are despised,
but who honour those who fear the Lord;
who stand by their oath even to their hurt;
5 who do not lend money at interest,
and do not take a bribe against the innocent.
Those who do these things shall never be moved.

Micah 3:1-4

Wicked Rulers and Prophets

3And I said:
Listen, you heads of Jacob
and rulers of the house of Israel!
Should you not know justice?—
2 you who hate the good and love the evil,
who tear the skin off my people,*
and the flesh off their bones;
3 who eat the flesh of my people,
flay their skin off them,
break their bones in pieces,
and chop them up like meat* in a kettle,
like flesh in a cauldron.
4 Then they will cry to the Lord,
but he will not answer them;
he will hide his face from them at that time,
because they have acted wickedly.

John 13:31-35

The New Commandment

31 When he had gone out, Jesus said, ‘Now the Son of Man has been glorified, and God has been glorified in him. 32If God has been glorified in him,* God will also glorify him in himself and will glorify him at once. 33Little children, I am with you only a little longer. You will look for me; and as I said to the Jews so now I say to you, “Where I am going, you cannot come.” 34I give you a new commandment, that you love one another. Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another. 35By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.’

The New Revised Standard Version (Anglicized Edition), copyright 1989, 1995 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

God’s Sanctuary 012911

 

 

As is the case with each week, our Psalm reading is repeated each day for the week. I always read it to myself or aloud but sometimes it doesn’t resonate at first.

 

I’ve read this Psalm, Psalm 15, all week but it was not until today that it helped me or spoke to me. I have a touch of the flu, I think, and feeling a bit down, as sickness effects many of us.

 

All the Psalm have a certain power to them. I wouldn’t say it is magical, as if some special incantation would bring God’s power to my life, but it still happens that the Psalms make me feel better, and give me strength each day.

 

So, I’m off in search of a nice quilt and a warm spot on the couch by the fire, to rest deeply in the sanctuary of God, while my body proceeds to whip the flu.

 

Peace,

 

(brother) Bill

Leave a Reply

