Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

rocking chair porch - MG_0972_72dpi

Image by kevindean via Flickr

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Meditation and thoughts follow the scripture.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Psalm 131

Isaiah 26:1-6

Philippians 2:25-30

 

Psalm 131

1O Lord, my heart is not lifted up, my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me.

2But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; my soul is like the weaned child that is with me.

3O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time on and forevermore.

Isaiah 26:1-6

26On that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah: We have a strong city; he sets up victory like walls and bulwarks. 2Open the gates, so that the righteous nation that keeps faith may enter in. 3Those of steadfast mind you keep in peace— in peace because they trust in you. 4Trust in the Lord forever, for in the Lord God you have an everlasting rock.

5For he has brought low the inhabitants of the height; the lofty city he lays low. He lays it low to the ground, casts it to the dust. 6The foot tramples it, the feet of the poor, the steps of the needy.

Philippians 2:25-30

25Still, I think it necessary to send to you Epaphroditus—my brother and co-worker and fellow soldier, your messenger and minister to my need; 26for he has been longing for all of you, and has been distressed because you heard that he was ill. 27He was indeed so ill that he nearly died. But God had mercy on him, and not only on him but on me also, so that I would not have one sorrow after another. 28I am the more eager to send him, therefore, in order that you may rejoice at seeing him again, and that I may be less anxious. 29Welcome him then in the Lord with all joy, and honor such people, 30because he came close to death for the work of Christ, risking his life to make up for those services that you could not give me.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Don’t Get Above Your Raisin’ 022511

This old saying means that one should not become haughty, prideful or arrogant, and not ever pretend to be something or someone above your basic family upbringing.

 

This sounds much like the first verse of Psalms 131: ‘1O Lord, my heart is not lifted up, my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me.’

 

The importance of this to people seeking the peace of God is that humility and simplicity, and remaining satisfied with your basic lot in this physical life are somehow connected. This goes against the basic selfish orientation of these post-modern times—which depend on eternal dissatisfaction and afeelings of deprivation to create a culture based on greed, consumption and false ambition.

 

Instead, relax, let God show you the things you need in your spiritual and physical life. Again, relax.

 

Peace,

(brother) Bill

Leave a Reply

