Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Judgment 030511

Pen and watercolour of William Blake's A Visio...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Meditation and thoughts follow the scripture.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Psalm 31:1-5, 19-24

Amos 2:6-11

Matthew 7:1-6

 

Psalm 31

1In you, O Lord, I seek refuge; do not let me ever be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me.

2Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily. Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me.

3You are indeed my rock and my fortress; for your name’s sake lead me and guide me,

4take me out of the net that is hidden for me, for you are my refuge.

5Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God.

19O how abundant is your goodness that you have laid up for those who fear you, and accomplished for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of everyone!

20In the shelter of your presence you hide them from human plots; you hold them safe under your shelter from contentious tongues.

21Blessed be the Lord, for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love to me when I was beset as a city under siege.

22I had said in my alarm, “I am driven far from your sight.” But you heard my supplications when I cried out to you for help.

23Love the Lord, all you his saints. The Lord preserves the faithful, but abundantly repays the one who acts haughtily.

24Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the Lord.

Amos 2:6-11

6Thus says the Lord: For three transgressions of Israel, and for four, I will not revoke the punishment; because they sell the righteous for silver, and the needy for a pair of sandals— 7they who trample the head of the poor into the dust of the earth, and push the afflicted out of the way; father and son go in to the same girl, so that my holy name is profaned; 8they lay themselves down beside every altar on garments taken in pledge; and in the house of their God they drink wine bought with fines they imposed.

9Yet I destroyed the Amorite before them, whose height was like the height of cedars, and who was as strong as oaks; I destroyed his fruit above, and his roots beneath. 10Also I brought you up out of the land of Egypt, and led you forty years in the wilderness, to possess the land of the Amorite. 11And I raised up some of your children to be prophets and some of your youths to be nazirites. Is it not indeed so, O people of Israel? says the Lord.

Matthew 7:1-6

7“Do not judge, so that you may not be judged. 2For with the judgment you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get. 3Why do you see the speck in your neighbor’s eye, but do not notice the log in your own eye? 4Or how can you say to your neighbor, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ while the log is in your own eye? 5You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your neighbor’s eye. 6“Do not give what is holy to dogs; and do not throw your pearls before swine, or they will trample them under foot and turn and maul you.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Judgment 030511

 

Nothing, except perhaps love, can so radically change for the better our life on earth as removing judgmental behavior from our lives.

 

‘Comparisons are odious’ the old  (1440 A.D.) phrase tells us, which mean comparisons are inherently hateful. And perhaps judgment is always hateful of us in some respect. It is extremely difficult not to judge—the habit seems inborn. It is difficult not to judge the lives’ of others compared to mine, or to judge my life compared to others, but these judgments do no good. They make no ones’ lives better, and most likely make all lives worse. Instead, we need the help of Jesus to learn to love our own lives, and the lives of others, as exactly suitable, exactly sufficient and we hope capable of the highest human expressions.

 

Pray for all humankind to be free and to be empowered to reach their own chosen expression, and to live their life in health and safety.

 

Peace,

(brother) Bill

 

Comments on: "Judgment 030511" (3)

  1. […] Judgment 030511 (mennonitepreacher.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Judgment 030511 (mennonitepreacher.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Judgment 030511 (mennonitepreacher.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

