Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Detail - Glory of the New Born Christ in prese...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

Indescribable And Glorious Joy 050511

Sometimes it seems that the Christian church is not very good as telling people what it is that is so special about Christianity. In some religions you learn to sit meditation and levitate perhaps, or one seeks enlightenment and satori, or nirvana.

In Peter 1:8 we are told of the ‘indescribable and glorious joy’ in being a disciple of Christ. But is a feeling of exhilaration really the source of desire to become a Christian? Or is it truth, or compassion or passion that leads us to follow Jesus?

There can be may reasons to initially inquire into Christianity whether as a child or as an adult confirming childhood understandings. For some a desire to see the infinite life of God and become part of it is reason enough, or to be able to begin to understand God’s hand in history, or a hope to ‘see’ God. There may be many reason; indescribable and glorious joy is just a side-benefit.

Peace

(brother)  Bill

 

Psalm 116

1I love the Lord, because he has heard my voice and my supplications.

2Because he inclined his ear to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live.

3The snares of death encompassed me; the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me; I suffered distress and anguish.

4Then I called on the name of the Lord: “O Lord, I pray, save my life!”

12What shall I return to the Lord for all his bounty to me?

13I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the Lord,

14I will pay my vows to the Lord in the presence of all his people.

15Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his faithful ones.

16O Lord, I am your servant; I am your servant, the child of your serving girl. You have loosed my bonds.

17I will offer to you a thanksgiving sacrifice and call on the name of the Lord.

18I will pay my vows to the Lord in the presence of all his people,

19in the courts of the house of the Lord, in your midst, O Jerusalem. Praise the Lord!

Isaiah 25:1-5

25O Lord, you are my God; I will exalt you, I will praise your name; for you have done wonderful things, plans formed of old, faithful and sure. 2For you have made the city a heap, the fortified city a ruin; the palace of aliens is a city no more, it will never be rebuilt. 3Therefore strong peoples will glorify you; cities of ruthless nations will fear you. 4For you have been a refuge to the poor, a refuge to the needy in their distress, a shelter from the rainstorm and a shade from the heat. When the blast of the ruthless was like a winter rainstorm, 5the noise of aliens like heat in a dry place, you subdued the heat with the shade of clouds; the song of the ruthless was stilled.

1 Peter 1:8b-12

8Although you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and rejoice with an indescribable and glorious joy, 9for you are receiving the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

10Concerning this salvation, the prophets who prophesied of the grace that was to be yours made careful search and inquiry, 11inquiring about the person or time that the Spirit of Christ within them indicated when it testified in advance to the sufferings destined for Christ and the subsequent glory. 12It was revealed to them that they were serving not themselves but you, in regard to the things that have now been announced to you through those who brought you good news by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven—things into which angels long to look!

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

