Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Called 050611

Christ the Saviour (Pantokrator), a 6th-centur...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

Psalm 116:1-4, 12-19

Isaiah 26:1-4

1 Peter 1:13-16

Called 050611

Sometimes we think that we are disciples of Christ because we decided to turn our life in that direction, or in some cases we are disciples of Christ because our family raised us to a disciple.

But we also were called by God to seek him. As a recent book title suggest ‘that which causes us to seek, is what we are seeking’.

15Instead, as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in all your conduct; 16for it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.” 1 Peter 1:15-16 says.

While the call of God is usually patient and gentle, it still remains our free will that causes us to accept that call, and to become disciples. As an old hymn repeats ‘Jesus is calling…’

Pray today for peace in the world, and calmness and sanity as those around us celebrate killing and death. Let us all remember what it is in life that we value most, and celebrate that.

Peace

(brother) Bill

 

 

Psalm 116

1I love the Lord, because he has heard my voice and my supplications.

2Because he inclined his ear to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live.

3The snares of death encompassed me; the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me; I suffered distress and anguish.

4Then I called on the name of the Lord: “O Lord, I pray, save my life!”

12What shall I return to the Lord for all his bounty to me?

13I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the Lord,

14I will pay my vows to the Lord in the presence of all his people.

15Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his faithful ones.

16O Lord, I am your servant; I am your servant, the child of your serving girl. You have loosed my bonds.

17I will offer to you a thanksgiving sacrifice and call on the name of the Lord.

18I will pay my vows to the Lord in the presence of all his people,

19in the courts of the house of the Lord, in your midst, O Jerusalem. Praise the Lord!

Isaiah 26:1-4

26On that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah: We have a strong city; he sets up victory like walls and bulwarks. 2Open the gates, so that the righteous nation that keeps faith may enter in. 3Those of steadfast mind you keep in peace— in peace because they trust in you. 4Trust in the Lord forever, for in the Lord God you have an everlasting rock.

1 Peter 1:13-16

13Therefore prepare your minds for action; discipline yourselves; set all your hope on the grace that Jesus Christ will bring you when he is revealed. 14Like obedient children, do not be conformed to the desires that you formerly had in ignorance. 15Instead, as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in all your conduct; 16for it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

