Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Noah sent out this dove

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

 

 

My Peace I Give To You 052811

 

Sometimes, like this morning, I’m hesitant to start the day and rise again before dawn. But I’m lucky to have a few moments and can share a scripture.

 

Today, the words I needed to hear came to me ‘My peace I give to you’ Jesus says and it is sufficient for the day.

 

I pray this message comes to you also, that the peace of Jesus is being shared with us, right now.

 

Pray for peace.

(brother) Bill

 

Psalm 66:8-20

8Bless our God, O peoples, let the sound of his praise be heard,

9who has kept us among the living, and has not let our feet slip.

10For you, O God, have tested us; you have tried us as silver is tried.

11You brought us into the net; you laid burdens on our backs;

12you let people ride over our heads; we went through fire and through water; yet you have brought us out to a spacious place.

13I will come into your house with burnt offerings; I will pay you my vows,

14those that my lips uttered and my mouth promised when I was in trouble.

15I will offer to you burnt offerings of fatlings, with the smoke of the sacrifice of rams; I will make an offering of bulls and goats. Selah

16Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for me.

17I cried aloud to him, and he was extolled with my tongue.

18If I had cherished iniquity in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.

19But truly God has listened; he has given heed to the words of my prayer.

20Blessed be God, because he has not rejected my prayer or removed his steadfast love from me.

Genesis 8:13-19

13In the six hundred first year, in the first month, the first day of the month, the waters were dried up from the earth; and Noah removed the covering of the ark, and looked, and saw that the face of the ground was drying. 14In the second month, on the twenty-seventh day of the month, the earth was dry.

15Then God said to Noah, 16“Go out of the ark, you and your wife, and your sons and your sons’ wives with you. 17Bring out with you every living thing that is with you of all flesh—birds and animals and every creeping thing that creeps on the earth—so that they may abound on the earth, and be fruitful and multiply on the earth.” 18So Noah went out with his sons and his wife and his sons’ wives. 19And every animal, every creeping thing, and every bird, everything that moves on the earth, went out of the ark by families.

John 14:27-29

27Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid.

28You heard me say to you, ‘I am going away, and I am coming to you.’ If you loved me, you would rejoice that I am going to the Father, because the Father is greater than I. 29And now I have told you this before it occurs, so that when it does occur, you may believe.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

