Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

The Hernando de Soto Bridge in Memphis, Tennes...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left. Sa4

 

Psalm 93

2 Kings 2:13-15

John 8:21-30

 

The Floods are Coming 060411

 

It was recently announced that the release of excess water from upstream flood control dams will cause significant flooding along the Missouri River and then maybe the Mississippi River again, or still. We don’t really understand, but here the waters come.

 

Yet already Psalms tells us today ‘3The floods have lifted up, O Lord, the floods have lifted up their voice; the floods lift up their roaring.’ We praise our God in floods and in droughts, who always is everlasting.

 

Pray today for the safety of those in the flood plain, and for the recovery workers at disaster sites globally, as we work together to care for one another.

 

Pray for peace.

(brother) Bill

Psalm 93

1The Lord is king, he is robed in majesty; the Lord is robed, he is girded with strength. He has established the world; it shall never be moved;

2your throne is established from of old; you are from everlasting.

3The floods have lifted up, O Lord, the floods have lifted up their voice; the floods lift up their roaring.

4More majestic than the thunders of mighty waters, more majestic than the waves of the sea, majestic on high is the Lord!

5Your decrees are very sure; holiness befits your house, O Lord, forevermore.

2 Kings 2:13-15

13He picked up the mantle of Elijah that had fallen from him, and went back and stood on the bank of the Jordan. 14He took the mantle of Elijah that had fallen from him, and struck the water, saying, “Where is the Lord, the God of Elijah?” When he had struck the water, the water was parted to the one side and to the other, and Elisha went over. 15When the company of prophets who were at Jericho saw him at a distance, they declared, “The spirit of Elijah rests on Elisha.” They came to meet him and bowed to the ground before him.

John 8:21-30

21Again he said to them, “I am going away, and you will search for me, but you will die in your sin. Where I am going, you cannot come.” 22Then the Jews said, “Is he going to kill himself? Is that what he means by saying, ‘Where I am going, you cannot come’?” 23He said to them, “You are from below, I am from above; you are of this world, I am not of this world. 24I told you that you would die in your sins, for you will die in your sins unless you believe that I am he.” 25They said to him, “Who are you?” Jesus said to them, “Why do I speak to you at all? 26I have much to say about you and much to condemn; but the one who sent me is true, and I declare to the world what I have heard from him.” 27They did not understand that he was speaking to them about the Father. 28So Jesus said, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will realize that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own, but I speak these things as the Father instructed me. 29And the one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what is pleasing to him.” 30As he was saying these things, many believed in him.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

