Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Coming Home 070111

@home

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

Psalm 145:8-14

Zechariah 2:6-13

Romans 7:7-20

Coming Home 070111

 

So many stories in the Bible are about coming home. Many themes of novels and movies also treat the emotions, joy and trepidation of coming home.

In Zechariah today, the nation of Israel comes home to Zion (Jerusalem). God greets the errant nation like a lost son, and declares that even he (God) will return to the homeland.

A friend told me recently that she was still grieving the loss of a sonn 10 years ago, and her only comfort was knowing her son had gone home, although not to her and the son’s family home.

Is it time for us all to go home and find God there?

Pray for homecoming! and pray for peace,

(brother) Bill

 

Psalm 145:8-14

8The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.

9The Lord is good to all, and his compassion is over all that he has made.

10All your works shall give thanks to you, O Lord, and all your faithful shall bless you.

11They shall speak of the glory of your kingdom, and tell of your power,

12to make known to all people your mighty deeds, and the glorious splendor of your kingdom.

13Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures throughout all generations. The Lord is faithful in all his words, and gracious in all his deeds.

14The Lord upholds all who are falling, and raises up all who are bowed down.

10Hear, O daughter, consider and incline your ear; forget your people and your father’s house,

11and the king will desire your beauty. Since he is your lord, bow to him;

12the people of Tyre will seek your favor with gifts, the richest of the people

13with all kinds of wealth. The princess is decked in her chamber with gold-woven robes;

14in many-colored robes she is led to the king; behind her the virgins, her companions, follow.

15With joy and gladness they are led along as they enter the palace of the king.

16In the place of ancestors you, O king, shall have sons; you will make them princes in all the earth.

17I will cause your name to be celebrated in all generations; therefore the peoples will praise you forever and ever.

Zechariah 2:6-13

6Up, up! Flee from the land of the north, says the Lord; for I have spread you abroad like the four winds of heaven, says the Lord. 7Up! Escape to Zion, you that live with daughter Babylon. 8For thus said the Lord of hosts (after his glory sent me) regarding the nations that plundered you: Truly, one who touches you touches the apple of my eye. 9See now, I am going to raise my hand against them, and they shall become plunder for their own slaves. Then you will know that the Lord of hosts has sent me.

10Sing and rejoice, O daughter Zion! For lo, I will come and dwell in your midst, says the Lord. 11Many nations shall join themselves to the Lord on that day, and shall be my people; and I will dwell in your midst. And you shall know that the Lord of hosts has sent me to you. 12The Lord will inherit Judah as his portion in the holy land, and will again choose Jerusalem. 13Be silent, all people, before the Lord; for he has roused himself from his holy dwelling.

Romans 7:7-20

7What then should we say? That the law is sin? By no means! Yet, if it had not been for the law, I would not have known sin. I would not have known what it is to covet if the law had not said, “You shall not covet.” 8But sin, seizing an opportunity in the commandment, produced in me all kinds of covetousness. Apart from the law sin lies dead. 9I was once alive apart from the law, but when the commandment came, sin revived 10and I died, and the very commandment that promised life proved to be death to me. 11For sin, seizing an opportunity in the commandment, deceived me and through it killed me. 12So the law is holy, and the commandment is holy and just and good. 13Did what is good, then, bring death to me? By no means! It was sin, working death in me through what is good, in order that sin might be shown to be sin, and through the commandment might become sinful beyond measure.

14For we know that the law is spiritual; but I am of the flesh, sold into slavery under sin. 15I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. 16Now if I do what I do not want, I agree that the law is good. 17But in fact it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me. 18For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot do it. 19For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do. 20Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

