Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Jesus Christ Crucifix

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

 

Psalm 119:129-136

Genesis 29:1-8

1 Corinthians 4:14-20

 

What If We Kept The Decrees Of The Lord? 072111

 

Psalm 119:129 affirms that the decrees of the Lord are wonderful. It also says that my soul keeps these decrees and so does your soul.  But there are some problems.

 

Sometimes it is hard for me to understand these decrees and I am confused by my own ignorance and my own temptations. And sometimes my actions are confused even though my soul may understand.

 

Lord, help us to understand your decrees, and purify our daily actions and speech.

 

Pray for help from God in following his paths, and learning the ways of Jesus Christ.

 

Pray for peace

(brother) Bill

 

 

Psalm 119:129-136

129Your decrees are wonderful; therefore my soul keeps them.

130The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple.

131With open mouth I pant, because I long for your commandments.

132Turn to me and be gracious to me, as is your custom toward those who love your name.

133Keep my steps steady according to your promise, and never let iniquity have dominion over me.

134Redeem me from human oppression, that I may keep your precepts.

135Make your face shine upon your servant, and teach me your statutes.

136My eyes shed streams of tears because your law is not kept.

Genesis 29:1-8

29Then Jacob went on his journey, and came to the land of the people of the east. 2As he looked, he saw a well in the field and three flocks of sheep lying there beside it; for out of that well the flocks were watered. The stone on the well’s mouth was large, 3and when all the flocks were gathered there, the shepherds would roll the stone from the mouth of the well, and water the sheep, and put the stone back in its place on the mouth of the well. 4Jacob said to them, “My brothers, where do you come from?” They said, “We are from Haran.” 5He said to them, “Do you know Laban son of Nahor?” They said, “We do.” 6He said to them, “Is it well with him?” “Yes,” they replied, “and here is his daughter Rachel, coming with the sheep.” 7He said, “Look, it is still broad daylight; it is not time for the animals to be gathered together. Water the sheep, and go, pasture them.” 8But they said, “We cannot until all the flocks are gathered together, and the stone is rolled from the mouth of the well; then we water the sheep.”

1 Corinthians 4:14-20

14I am not writing this to make you ashamed, but to admonish you as my beloved children. 15For though you might have ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers. Indeed, in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel. 16I appeal to you, then, be imitators of me.

17For this reason I sent you Timothy, who is my beloved and faithful child in the Lord, to remind you of my ways in Christ Jesus, as I teach them everywhere in every church. 18But some of you, thinking that I am not coming to you, have become arrogant. 19But I will come to you soon, if the Lord wills, and I will find out not the talk of these arrogant people but their power. 20For the kingdom of God depends not on talk but on power.

 

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

