Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Violence!

Image by Rickydavid via Flickr

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Pastor Bill’s personal faith blog is at community.beliefnet.com/mennonitepreacher

 

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

 

Avoiding the Violent 072911

 

The Psalmist, in Psalm 17:4 says: “…. I have avoided the ways of the violent. “

I’d like to know how to do that, and surely we must have God’s help to do so. Almost everyone we see in the modern world are violent, either by the action of their hands with or without weapons, with words, or with ink pens and papers. Those who take the homes of the poor and unemployed are violent; those who stalk our streets in violent gangs, and those who hurt our children are violent. Violence has become an integrated part of our daily lives lives whether violence to people, or violence to animals and the environment. How can we avoid the violent?

Turn off the TV, protect your children, eat, drink and walk gently. We’ll do our best, Lord.

Pray for peace, and for not being part of the violence.

Peace

(brother) Bill

 

 

 

Psalm 17:1-7, 15

Isaiah 41:8-10

Romans 9:6-13

 

Psalm 17

1Hear a just cause, O Lord; attend to my cry; give ear to my prayer from lips free of deceit.

2From you let my vindication come; let your eyes see the right.

3If you try my heart, if you visit me by night, if you test me, you will find no wickedness in me; my mouth does not transgress.

4As for what others do, by the word of your lips I have avoided the ways of the violent.

5My steps have held fast to your paths; my feet have not slipped.

6I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God; incline your ear to me, hear my words.

7Wondrously show your steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand.

15As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness; when I awake I shall be satisfied, beholding your likeness.

Isaiah 41:8-10

8But you, Israel, my servant, Jacob, whom I have chosen, the offspring of Abraham, my friend; 9you whom I took from the ends of the earth, and called from its farthest corners, saying to you, “You are my servant, I have chosen you and not cast you off”;

10do not fear, for I am with you, do not be afraid, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.

Romans 9:6-13

6It is not as though the word of God had failed. For not all Israelites truly belong to Israel, 7and not all of Abraham’s children are his true descendants; but “It is through Isaac that descendants shall be named for you.” 8This means that it is not the children of the flesh who are the children of God, but the children of the promise are counted as descendants. 9For this is what the promise said, “About this time I will return and Sarah shall have a son.” 10Nor is that all; something similar happened to Rebecca when she had conceived children by one husband, our ancestor Isaac. 11Even before they had been born or had done anything good or bad (so that God’s purpose of election might continue, 12not by works but by his call) she was told, “The elder shall serve the younger.” 13As it is written, “I have loved Jacob, but I have hated Esau.”

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Related articles (without endorsement)

Leave a Reply

