Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

God is Great 081111

A portion of everything (Explored # 380)

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 18:1-19

Job 36:24-33; 37:14-24

Matthew 8:23-27

 

God is Great 081111

Today’s verses from Job 36 and 37 are praise and wisdom sayings, and tend to direct my attention back to the God of the environment, the God of creation. These days I recognize and delight in God and creation and wonder how I ever could have lived without God or lived without the joy of his creation. It is possible I suppose—so many people now live inside and don’t start and end their days with dawn and sunset.

Today—try to take time to sit in the shade and delight in the glory of God. Watch a bird, take care of a house plant, or watch a dog and children playing in the park. The glory of God is always in place and active.

His peace be with us all

(brother) Bill

Psalm 18

1I love you, O Lord, my strength.

2The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

3I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, so I shall be saved from my enemies.

4The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of perdition assailed me;

5the cords of Sheol entangled me; the snares of death confronted me.

6In my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.

7Then the earth reeled and rocked; the foundations also of the mountains trembled and quaked, because he was angry.

8Smoke went up from his nostrils, and devouring fire from his mouth; glowing coals flamed forth from him.

9He bowed the heavens, and came down; thick darkness was under his feet.

10He rode on a cherub, and flew; he came swiftly upon the wings of the wind.

11He made darkness his covering around him, his canopy thick clouds dark with water.

12Out of the brightness before him there broke through his clouds hailstones and coals of fire.

13The Lord also thundered in the heavens, and the Most High uttered his voice.

14And he sent out his arrows, and scattered them; he flashed forth lightnings, and routed them.

15Then the channels of the sea were seen, and the foundations of the world were laid bare at your rebuke, O Lord, at the blast of the breath of your nostrils.

16He reached down from on high, he took me; he drew me out of mighty waters.

17He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from those who hated me; for they were too mighty for me.

18They confronted me in the day of my calamity; but the Lord was my support.

19He brought me out into a broad place; he delivered me, because he delighted in me.

Job 36:24-33; 37:14-24

24“Remember to extol his work, of which mortals have sung. 25All people have looked on it; everyone watches it from far away. 26Surely God is great, and we do not know him; the number of his years is unsearchable. 27For he draws up the drops of water; he distills his mist in rain, 28which the skies pour down and drop upon mortals abundantly. 29Can anyone understand the spreading of the clouds, the thunderings of his pavilion? 30See, he scatters his lightning around him and covers the roots of the sea. 31For by these he governs peoples; he gives food in abundance. 32He covers his hands with the lightning, and commands it to strike the mark. 33Its crashing tells about him; he is jealous with anger against iniquity.

14“Hear this, O Job; stop and consider the wondrous works of God. 15Do you know how God lays his command upon them, and causes the lightning of his cloud to shine? 16Do you know the balancings of the clouds, the wondrous works of the one whose knowledge is perfect, 17you whose garments are hot when the earth is still because of the south wind? 18Can you, like him, spread out the skies, hard as a molten mirror? 19Teach us what we shall say to him; we cannot draw up our case because of darkness. 20Should he be told that I want to speak? Did anyone ever wish to be swallowed up?

21Now, no one can look on the light when it is bright in the skies, when the wind has passed and cleared them. 22Out of the north comes golden splendor; around God is awesome majesty. 23The Almighty—we cannot find him; he is great in power and justice, and abundant righteousness he will not violate. 24Therefore mortals fear him; he does not regard any who are wise in their own conceit.”

Matthew 8:23-27

23And when he got into the boat, his disciples followed him. 24A windstorm arose on the sea, so great that the boat was being swamped by the waves; but he was asleep. 25And they went and woke him up, saying, “Lord, save us! We are perishing!” 26And he said to them, “Why are you afraid, you of little faith?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a dead calm. 27They were amazed, saying, “What sort of man is this, that even the winds and the sea obey him?”

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

Comments on: "God is Great 081111" (1)

  1. Excerpts from “Will you love me…?” (6.20.2011)
    “I was reminded today of my first love and where I have come… I was sitting outside in my garden, worshipping my God and all the beauty He surrounds me with, when a dragonfly landed directly across from me, and hovered there. I smiled and thought God created you, for me… for this very moment. I noticed a double portion of wings and a beautifully placed contrast of color embodying this amazing creature, which could take flight at will.

    I went back to a time, not all that long ago, when I would not have seen God’s creation[s]. I could not even see God. There was beauty all around me, but I was consumed with the clutter and chaos that the world had to offer. I could not get passed the hurt and pain of life gone really wrong. I could not wrap my head around how Jesus could come, die, or be remotely connected to this planet [with me in it], for me! It was not until Jesus grabbed my hand and heart, that I made a choice to seek after Him, to know Him, to love Him, to serve Him… for Him. And it was at that moment, that I saw the beauty… ‘He gave for me’.

    The Lord truly works in beautifully creative and mysterious ways… sometimes with a dragonfly… always with a purpose and a plan.

    I took notice of the dragonfly as it took flight to a destination unknown. It hovered one last time before leaving… as if to say, “My work here is done”. ”

    THANK YOU (brother) BILL! I am so blessed by the like-minded in Christ! If all were to truly see and grasp what the Lord has made… “What a wonderful world this would be!”

    God Blesses!
    … jams4JESUS

Leave a Reply

