Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

House of St. Peter under the Catholic Church i...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 26:1-8

Jeremiah 15:10-14

Matthew 8:14-17

 

Healing Like Capernaum 082711

Our verses today from Matthew 8 tell the story of Jesus’ healing of Peter’s mother in Capernaum.

Capernaum, a town of uncertain size, was the location of Jesus’ first ministry. Jesus stood on the threshold of the house of Peter’s mother, and Jesus apparently lived there with Peter, Jesus and other disciples, and the synagogue was where Jesus first preached.

Of all the biblical sites one might visit, Capernaum would be first on my list, if I visited the Holy Land, for we know from history and the Bible, that Jesus walked and stood in this exact house. The house was a courtyard type, with rooms around a central open area, and one single door to the outside street and public area. I’ve often wandered how Peter’s mother felt with her son, Peter, and friends Jesus and others staying with her for a time. The times were hard economically, and to have single sons staying at home was not unusual. But was her sickness from the exhaustion of caring for so many adult young men?

But Jesus healed her, and to see and perhaps stand near where Jesus left his footprints would be a pleasure. In healing, however, do we stand near Jesus? Could we pray, and by God’s hands see health restored?

Pray for the sick of the world, and remember Jesus at humble Capernaum.

Pray for peace

(brother) Bill

Psalm 26

1Vindicate me, O Lord, for I have walked in my integrity, and I have trusted in the Lord without wavering.

2Prove me, O Lord, and try me; test my heart and mind.

3For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in faithfulness to you.

4I do not sit with the worthless, nor do I consort with hypocrites;

5I hate the company of evildoers, and will not sit with the wicked.

6I wash my hands in innocence, and go around your altar, O Lord,

7singing aloud a song of thanksgiving, and telling all your wondrous deeds.

8O Lord, I love the house in which you dwell, and the place where your glory abides.

Jeremiah 15:10-14

10Woe is me, my mother, that you ever bore me, a man of strife and contention to the whole land! I have not lent, nor have I borrowed, yet all of them curse me. 11The Lord said: Surely I have intervened in your life for good, surely I have imposed enemies on you in a time of trouble and in a time of distress. 12Can iron and bronze break iron from the north? 13Your wealth and your treasures I will give as plunder, without price, for all your sins, throughout all your territory. 14I will make you serve your enemies in a land that you do not know, for in my anger a fire is kindled that shall burn forever.

Matthew 8:14-17

14When Jesus entered Peter’s house, he saw his mother-in-law lying in bed with a fever; 15he touched her hand, and the fever left her, and she got up and began to serve him. 16That evening they brought to him many who were possessed with demons; and he cast out the spirits with a word, and cured all who were sick. 17This was to fulfill what had been spoken through the prophet Isaiah, “He took our infirmities and bore our diseases.”

 

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

