Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

 

Who Needs Prayer This Morning? 101111

 

Our original purpose in this blog was to encourage and assist people to pray every morning and read the Bible every morning. In answer to our question above, we all need prayer this morning, not just to make our job easier, or ease our suffering, but to ease the suffering of a world that finds itself separated from God.

 

This morning, may we suggest reading Psalm 34 several times, aloud if possible, then we can all pray for each other. We need prayer, we need God, and we need each other.

 

Pray for this peace,

(brother) Bill

Psalm 34

1I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

2My soul makes its boast in the Lord; let the humble hear and be glad.

3O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together.

4I sought the Lord, and he answered me, and delivered me from all my fears.

5Look to him, and be radiant; so your faces shall never be ashamed.

6This poor soul cried, and was heard by the Lord, and was saved from every trouble.

7The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them.

8O taste and see that the Lord is good; happy are those who take refuge in him.

9O fear the Lord, you his holy ones, for those who fear him have no want.

10The young lions suffer want and hunger, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

11Come, O children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the Lord.

12Which of you desires life, and covets many days to enjoy good?

13Keep your tongue from evil, and your lips from speaking deceit.

14Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.

15The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their cry.

16The face of the Lord is against evildoers, to cut off the remembrance of them from the earth.

17When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears, and rescues them from all their troubles.

18The Lord is near to the brokenhearted, and saves the crushed in spirit.

19Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord rescues them from them all.

20He keeps all their bones; not one of them will be broken.

21Evil brings death to the wicked, and those who hate the righteous will be condemned.

22The Lord redeems the life of his servants; none of those who take refuge in him will be condemned.

Exodus 33:1-6

33The Lord said to Moses, “Go, leave this place, you and the people whom you have brought up out of the land of Egypt, and go to the land of which I swore to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, saying, ‘To your descendants I will give it.’ 2I will send an angel before you, and I will drive out the Canaanites, the Amorites, the Hittites, the Perizzites, the Hivites, and the Jebusites. 3Go up to a land flowing with milk and honey; but I will not go up among you, or I would consume you on the way, for you are a stiff-necked people.” 4When the people heard these harsh words, they mourned, and no one put on ornaments. 5For the Lord had said to Moses, “Say to the Israelites, ‘You are a stiff-necked people; if for a single moment I should go up among you, I would consume you. So now take off your ornaments, and I will decide what to do to you.’“ 6Therefore the Israelites stripped themselves of their ornaments, from Mount Horeb onward.

Philippians 3:13—4:1

13Beloved, I do not consider that I have made it my own; but this one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14I press on toward the goal for the prize of the heavenly call of God in Christ Jesus.

15Let those of us then who are mature be of the same mind; and if you think differently about anything, this too God will reveal to you. 16Only let us hold fast to what we have attained.

17Brothers and sisters, join in imitating me, and observe those who live according to the example you have in us. 18For many live as enemies of the cross of Christ; I have often told you of them, and now I tell you even with tears. 19Their end is destruction; their god is the belly; and their glory is in their shame; their minds are set on earthly things. 20But our citizenship is in heaven, and it is from there that we are expecting a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. 21He will transform the body of our humiliation that it may be conformed to the body of his glory, by the power that also enables him to make all things subject to himself.

4Therefore, my brothers and sisters, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, my beloved.

 

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

