Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

This blog comes to you from the

This is my own work. Photo by Gila Brand. Naha...

Image via Wikipedia

people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 63

Amos 8:7-14

1 Corinthians 14:20-25

 

Monday, Monday, Busy Monday 110711

Monday is an amazing day. It never ceases to amaze me how Monday can be so busy, frantic and chaotic after a day of peace on Sunday, the Lord’s Day. It seems that when our feet hit the cold floor of Monday morning, the peace of Sunday might leave us.

But in a new sense, we have to learn how to make every day the ‘Lord’s Day’.

Psalm 63 could be a great way to start today. Read it aloud as you take time  to start your morning prayers.

People do not know what Jesus meant when he asked us to pray three times a day, but if you do pray three times a day, or more, you know the joy, the absolute delight and the peace that comes from living close to the heart of Jesus. You know what it means to be filled with this joy every day and every hour.

May your Monday be an extended Sunday!

Pray for peace

(brother) Bill

Psalm 63

1O God, you are my God, I seek you, my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

2So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.

3Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.

4So I will bless you as long as I live; I will lift up my hands and call on your name.

5My soul is satisfied as with a rich feast, and my mouth praises you with joyful lips

6when I think of you on my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night;

7for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I sing for joy.

8My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.

9But those who seek to destroy my life shall go down into the depths of the earth;

10they shall be given over to the power of the sword, they shall be prey for jackals.

11But the king shall rejoice in God; all who swear by him shall exult, for the mouths of liars will be stopped.

Amos 8:7-14

7The Lord has sworn by the pride of Jacob: Surely I will never forget any of their deeds. 8Shall not the land tremble on this account, and everyone mourn who lives in it, and all of it rise like the Nile, and be tossed about and sink again, like the Nile of Egypt? 9On that day, says the Lord God, I will make the sun go down at noon, and darken the earth in broad daylight. 10I will turn your feasts into mourning, and all your songs into lamentation; I will bring sackcloth on all loins, and baldness on every head; I will make it like the mourning for an only son, and the end of it like a bitter day.

11The time is surely coming, says the Lord God, when I will send a famine on the land; not a famine of bread, or a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the Lord. 12They shall wander from sea to sea, and from north to east; they shall run to and fro, seeking the word of the Lord, but they shall not find it. 13In that day the beautiful young women and the young men shall faint for thirst. 14Those who swear by Ashimah of Samaria, and say, “As your god lives, O Dan,” and, “As the way of Beer-sheba lives”— they shall fall, and never rise again.

1 Corinthians 14:20-25

20Brothers and sisters, do not be children in your thinking; rather, be infants in evil, but in thinking be adults.

21In the law it is written, “By people of strange tongues and by the lips of foreigners I will speak to this people; yet even then they will not listen to me,” says the Lord. 22Tongues, then, are a sign not for believers but for unbelievers, while prophecy is not for unbelievers but for believers. 23If, therefore, the whole church comes together and all speak in tongues, and outsiders or unbelievers enter, will they not say that you are out of your mind? 24But if all prophesy, an unbeliever or outsider who enters is reproved by all and called to account by all. 25After the secrets of the unbeliever’s heart are disclosed, that person will bow down before God and worship him, declaring, “God is really among you.”

 

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

