Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 7

Psalm 28

Esther 2:1-18

Numbers 27:15-23

2 Timothy 2:8-13

Today I Need Some Gospel 112111

I awoke this morning with the idea that I needed to hear some good news, and no news is ever as good as the gospel of Jesus.

2 Timothy talks to me clearly this morning. ‘Remember Jesus Christ who was raised from the dead’.

We never know any better news than this and that Jesus remains faithful, even when we lose our faith.

Go into the day and the world. Jesus is with you always.

Pray for courage and for peace in Jesus Christ.

(brother) Bill

 

 

Psalm 7

1O Lord my God, in you I take refuge; save me from all my pursuers, and deliver me,

2or like a lion they will tear me apart; they will drag me away, with no one to rescue.

3O Lord my God, if I have done this, if there is wrong in my hands,

4if I have repaid my ally with harm or plundered my foe without cause,

5then let the enemy pursue and overtake me, trample my life to the ground, and lay my soul in the dust. Selah

6Rise up, O Lord, in your anger; lift yourself up against the fury of my enemies; awake, O my God; you have appointed a judgment.

7Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered around you, and over it take your seat on high.

8The Lord judges the peoples; judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me.

9O let the evil of the wicked come to an end, but establish the righteous, you who test the minds and hearts, O righteous God.

10God is my shield, who saves the upright in heart.

11God is a righteous judge, and a God who has indignation every day.

12If one does not repent, God will whet his sword; he has bent and strung his bow;

13he has prepared his deadly weapons, making his arrows fiery shafts.

14See how they conceive evil, and are pregnant with mischief, and bring forth lies.

15They make a pit, digging it out, and fall into the hole that they have made.

16Their mischief returns upon their own heads, and on their own heads their violence descends.

17I will give to the Lord the thanks due to his righteousness, and sing praise to the name of the Lord, the Most High.

Numbers 27:15-23

15Moses spoke to the Lord, saying, 16“Let the Lord, the God of the spirits of all flesh, appoint someone over the congregation 17who shall go out before them and come in before them, who shall lead them out and bring them in, so that the congregation of the Lord may not be like sheep without a shepherd.” 18So the Lord said to Moses, “Take Joshua son of Nun, a man in whom is the spirit, and lay your hand upon him; 19have him stand before Eleazar the priest and all the congregation, and commission him in their sight. 20You shall give him some of your authority, so that all the congregation of the Israelites may obey. 21But he shall stand before Eleazar the priest, who shall inquire for him by the decision of the Urim before the Lord; at his word they shall go out, and at his word they shall come in, both he and all the Israelites with him, the whole congregation.” 22So Moses did as the Lord commanded him. He took Joshua and had him stand before Eleazar the priest and the whole congregation; 23he laid his hands on him and commissioned him—as the Lord had directed through Moses.

2 Timothy 2:8-13

8Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, a descendant of David—that is my gospel, 9for which I suffer hardship, even to the point of being chained like a criminal. But the word of God is not chained. 10Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, so that they may also obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with eternal glory. 11The saying is sure: If we have died with him, we will also live with him; 12if we endure, we will also reign with him; if we deny him, he will also deny us; 13if we are faithless, he remains faithful— for he cannot deny himself.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

