Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

English: ELIYAH VISITS KING AHAB AND THE BA'AL...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 125

1 Kings 18:1-18

Ephesians 6:10-17

 

Putting on the Armor of God 121211

 

I’m up very, very early here, and decided to write the day’s blog. Each Mondays blog is always more difficult than other days, because I usually have a brain full of spiritual ideas to think and learn about on Monday. For me, they are delightful ‘leftovers’ from the prior week’s growth, as delightful as turkey, onion, pickle and mayonnaise sandwiches in the week after Thanksgiving. I think I like those leftovers better than the whole meal, because it is moderate and more slowly digested.

But, Mondays are my day to begin to consolidate the spiritual ‘ideas’ I’ve got that are leftover from the prior week. I call them spiritual ‘ideas’ but maybe they are more like spiritual notions or spiritual surprises.

For instance, I recall from Sunday’s sermon the Magnificat of Mary, and the stories of Elizabeth, John the Baptist and Mary. Each of those stories was about the amazing depth and trust each of them had in the Lord, and how their expectation of the coming Messiah (the meaning of Advent) shaped their spiritual life and continuing spiritual growth.

Today’s scriptural theme seems to present or extend and continue this theme.  As I read these verses I wonder about my own depth of trust, how I trust God, what I trust God for, and how patient am I in trusting? If I trust to Lord to answer my prayers, how long will I patiently wait on my Lord?

What is important is that not only do I ask these type of questions, but that I wait and talk to God about the answers. Do questions come up for you when you read the daily scriptures? Ask our Lord for answers!

Pray for peace

(brother) Bill

 

Psalm 125

1Those who trust in the Lord are like Mount Zion, which cannot be moved, but abides forever.

2As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the Lord surrounds his people, from this time on and forevermore.

3For the scepter of wickedness shall not rest on the land allotted to the righteous, so that the righteous might not stretch out their hands to do wrong.

4Do good, O Lord, to those who are good, and to those who are upright in their hearts.

5But those who turn aside to their own crooked ways the Lord will lead away with evildoers. Peace be upon Israel!

1 Kings 18:1-18

18After many days the word of the Lord came to Elijah, in the third year of the drought, saying, “Go, present yourself to Ahab; I will send rain on the earth.” 2So Elijah went to present himself to Ahab. The famine was severe in Samaria. 3Ahab summoned Obadiah, who was in charge of the palace. (Now Obadiah revered the Lord greatly; 4when Jezebel was killing off the prophets of the Lord, Obadiah took a hundred prophets, hid them fifty to a cave, and provided them with bread and water.) 5Then Ahab said to Obadiah, “Go through the land to all the springs of water and to all the wadis; perhaps we may find grass to keep the horses and mules alive, and not lose some of the animals.” 6So they divided the land between them to pass through it; Ahab went in one direction by himself, and Obadiah went in another direction by himself. 7As Obadiah was on the way, Elijah met him; Obadiah recognized him, fell on his face, and said, “Is it you, my lord Elijah?” 8He answered him, “It is I. Go, tell your lord that Elijah is here.” 9And he said, “How have I sinned, that you would hand your servant over to Ahab, to kill me? 10As the Lord your God lives, there is no nation or kingdom to which my lord has not sent to seek you; and when they would say, ‘He is not here,’ he would require an oath of the kingdom or nation, that they had not found you. 11But now you say, ‘Go, tell your lord that Elijah is here.’ 12As soon as I have gone from you, the spirit of the Lord will carry you I know not where; so, when I come and tell Ahab and he cannot find you, he will kill me, although I your servant have revered the Lord from my youth. 13Has it not been told my lord what I did when Jezebel killed the prophets of the Lord, how I hid a hundred of the Lord’s prophets fifty to a cave, and provided them with bread and water? 14Yet now you say, ‘Go, tell your lord that Elijah is here’; he will surely kill me.” 15Elijah said, “As the Lord of hosts lives, before whom I stand, I will surely show myself to him today.” 16So Obadiah went to meet Ahab, and told him; and Ahab went to meet Elijah.

17When Ahab saw Elijah, Ahab said to him, “Is it you, you troubler of Israel?” 18He answered, “I have not troubled Israel; but you have, and your father’s house, because you have forsaken the commandments of the Lord and followed the Baals.

Ephesians 6:10-17

10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his power. 11Put on the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12For our struggle is not against enemies of blood and flesh, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers of this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. 13Therefore take up the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to withstand on that evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. 14Stand therefore, and fasten the belt of truth around your waist, and put on the breastplate of righteousness. 15As shoes for your feet put on whatever will make you ready to proclaim the gospel of peace. 16With all of these, take the shield of faith, with which you will be able to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17Take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

