Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

It’s 13° F Today! 011312

English: Author: Samuel Danforth Source: MDCXL...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

Psalm 29

1 Samuel 16:1-13

1 Timothy 4:11-16

It’s 13° F Today! 011312

 

When I woke my first idea was to get the wood heater and the woodstove fired up, and I had two fires started before I even started the coffee. Everybody and everything on the farm is asleep today, no doubt snuggled close to loved ones.

A few moments later, when I turned on the computer to do the daily blog, I realized today was the 13th! I didn’t really even know what day it was, but I’m told it is Friday.

Well, the Friday the 13th is supposed to be unlucky, and the 13th floor of a tall building is ‘skipped’ to avoid it. But today has two 13 numbers, when I include the temperature.

But it is not an evil day, or full of bad luck. I woke up, that’s good. I ate a piece of toast—that’s good. I drank coffee, prayed and read the Bible while the fire’s first flames warmed me, and I felt so good to have the the fire, and the love of Jesus Christ warm me, all the way through.

Go in peace, brothers and sisters, and pray for peace,

Bill

Psalm 29

1Ascribe to the Lord, O heavenly beings, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength.

2Ascribe to the Lord the glory of his name; worship the Lord in holy splendor.

3The voice of the Lord is over the waters; the God of glory thunders, the Lord, over mighty waters.

4The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is full of majesty.

5The voice of the Lord breaks the cedars; the Lord breaks the cedars of Lebanon.

6He makes Lebanon skip like a calf, and Sirion like a young wild ox.

7The voice of the Lord flashes forth flames of fire.

8The voice of the Lord shakes the wilderness; the Lord shakes the wilderness of Kadesh.

9The voice of the Lord causes the oaks to whirl, and strips the forest bare; and in his temple all say, “Glory!”

10The Lord sits enthroned over the flood; the Lord sits enthroned as king forever.

11May the Lord give strength to his people! May the Lord bless his people with peace!

1 Samuel 16:1-13

16The Lord said to Samuel, “How long will you grieve over Saul? I have rejected him from being king over Israel. Fill your horn with oil and set out; I will send you to Jesse the Bethlehemite, for I have provided for myself a king among his sons.” 2Samuel said, “How can I go? If Saul hears of it, he will kill me.” And the Lord said, “Take a heifer with you, and say, ‘I have come to sacrifice to the Lord.’ 3Invite Jesse to the sacrifice, and I will show you what you shall do; and you shall anoint for me the one whom I name to you.” 4Samuel did what the Lord commanded, and came to Bethlehem. The elders of the city came to meet him trembling, and said, “Do you come peaceably?” 5He said, “Peaceably; I have come to sacrifice to the Lord; sanctify yourselves and come with me to the sacrifice.” And he sanctified Jesse and his sons and invited them to the sacrifice.

6When they came, he looked on Eliab and thought, “Surely the Lord’s anointed is now before the Lord.” 7But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him; for the Lord does not see as mortals see; they look on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” 8Then Jesse called Abinadab, and made him pass before Samuel. He said, “Neither has the Lord chosen this one.” 9Then Jesse made Shammah pass by. And he said, “Neither has the Lord chosen this one.” 10Jesse made seven of his sons pass before Samuel, and Samuel said to Jesse, “The Lord has not chosen any of these.” 11Samuel said to Jesse, “Are all your sons here?” And he said, “There remains yet the youngest, but he is keeping the sheep.” And Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and bring him; for we will not sit down until he comes here.” 12He sent and brought him in. Now he was ruddy, and had beautiful eyes, and was handsome. The Lord said, “Rise and anoint him; for this is the one.” 13Then Samuel took the horn of oil, and anointed him in the presence of his brothers; and the spirit of the Lord came mightily upon David from that day forward. Samuel then set out and went to Ramah.

1 Timothy 4:11-16

11These are the things you must insist on and teach. 12Let no one despise your youth, but set the believers an example in speech and conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. 13Until I arrive, give attention to the public reading of scripture, to exhorting, to teaching. 14Do not neglect the gift that is in you, which was given to you through prophecy with the laying on of hands by the council of elders. 15Put these things into practice, devote yourself to them, so that all may see your progress. 16Pay close attention to yourself and to your teaching; continue in these things, for in doing this you will save both yourself and your hearers.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Comments on: "It’s 13° F Today! 011312" (5)

  1. Brrrr!

  2. Mennonite Pastor, thank you for your story today! 13° F!!! Wow! I woke up to a low 39° with a high expected 61°. I do have a fireplace but I’ve only used it once when I first bought my house. Freezing is rare here in the Coastal Bend in South Texas.

    Your opening sounds like a passage in a first rate thriller living out in the farm with a wood burning stove. I’m not trying to poke fun of your life. I’m sincerely amazed at your endurance and where the Lord has placed you and that no matter the distance or time, the Lord has linked us together to share His word.

    I also think that speaking about the Prophet Samuel at this time is also of the Lord. He wants us to be His holy people and the Prophet Samuel is a great role model, exemplifying His holiness.

    Have a great day! Blessings,

  3. June Thomsen said:

    Hi – I really like and respect what you are doing here. It must take a lot of time. I’m a transitional pastor, and part of the WDC Leadership Commission. Would like to sign up for your daily blog, but can’t figure out how. What in the world is a tag cloud? It sure is pretty – and interesting!
    June

    • Thanks, June. To subscribe: there should be a place in the upper right portion of the blog screen that says you can enter your e-mail address. This signs you up for daily e-mails, or whenever there’s a new post on the blog.

      I also do not know what a ‘cloud’ is–but I guess I’m glad we have one. I meant to ask a grandchild!

      For those readers outside of the midwestern US, WDC is ‘Western District Conference’, a regional conference that is part of the Mennonite Church USA. Welcome, June.

Leave a Reply

