Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

A man praying at a Japanese Shintō shrine.

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

Psalm 139:1-6, 13-18

1 Samuel 2:21-25

Matthew 25:1-13

 

Acquainted With All My Ways 012112

Over the years I’ve known just a handful of people, mainly relatives, who had no choice but to know me, and a couple of others that really were acquainted really with who I am.

But through the years I have spiritually been always in a state of change or a state of flux. This is not necessarily an advantage, because when one is experiencing change, disruption and chaos in one’s personal life, the end result may be sometimes that one is less spiritual, less with God, and just more and more dark. And one’s spiritual state may be something you share with family or friends, or with a close spiritual advisor, but, more likely spiritual affairs are something so deep, so personal that we often share not a word with anyone.

But through this all, I had never had the feeling that Jesus did not understand and accept who I really was inside, (even when I rejected Christianity for several decades). Jesus has been ‘acquainted with all my ways’ and still loves, I have discovered.

Read the above in Psalm 139 and rejoice!

Pray for peace,

(brother) Bill

Psalm 139

1O Lord, you have searched me and known me.

2You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from far away.

3You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways.

4Even before a word is on my tongue, O Lord, you know it completely.

5You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.

6Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is so high that I cannot attain it.

13For it was you who formed my inward parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; that I know very well.

15My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.

16Your eyes beheld my unformed substance. In your book were written all the days that were formed for me, when none of them as yet existed.

17How weighty to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

18I try to count them—they are more than the sand; I come to the end—I am still with you.

1 Samuel 2:21-25

21And the Lord took note of Hannah; she conceived and bore three sons and two daughters. And the boy Samuel grew up in the presence of the Lord. 22Now Eli was very old. He heard all that his sons were doing to all Israel, and how they lay with the women who served at the entrance to the tent of meeting. 23He said to them, “Why do you do such things? For I hear of your evil dealings from all these people. 24No, my sons; it is not a good report that I hear the people of the Lord spreading abroad. 25If one person sins against another, someone can intercede for the sinner with the Lord; but if someone sins against the Lord, who can make intercession?” But they would not listen to the voice of their father; for it was the will of the Lord to kill them.

Matthew 25:1-13

25“Then the kingdom of heaven will be like this. Ten bridesmaids took their lamps and went to meet the bridegroom. 2Five of them were foolish, and five were wise. 3When the foolish took their lamps, they took no oil with them; 4but the wise took flasks of oil with their lamps. 5As the bridegroom was delayed, all of them became drowsy and slept. 6But at midnight there was a shout, ‘Look! Here is the bridegroom! Come out to meet him.’ 7Then all those bridesmaids got up and trimmed their lamps. 8The foolish said to the wise, ‘Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out.’ 9But the wise replied, ‘No! there will not be enough for you and for us; you had better go to the dealers and buy some for yourselves.’ 10And while they went to buy it, the bridegroom came, and those who were ready went with him into the wedding banquet; and the door was shut. 11Later the other bridesmaids came also, saying, ‘Lord, lord, open to us.’ 12But he replied, ‘Truly I tell you, I do not know you.’ 13Keep awake therefore, for you know neither the day nor the hour.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

Comments on: "Acquainted With All My Ways 012112" (5)

  1. Brother Bill,
    Thank you for sharing this Word today. Blessings to you!
    Samantha

  2. Ar Sew N' Sew said:

    I very much enjoyed your post. Thank you!

  3. Good reminder, Bill. Thanks!

  4. Thanks so much for the ping!

  5. […] 14 January | Sacredise Daily Worship1Acquainted With All My Ways 012112 « Mennonite Preacher […]

Leave a Reply

