Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

via Flickr”]Psalm 48:10This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 62:5-12

Jeremiah 20:14-18

Luke 10:13-16

 

The Completeness of Our Songs 012812

Someone has said that the Psalms are sufficient as complete prayers to God. I don’t know about using the word ‘complete’ to describe the Psalms, because every song needs a singer, and God needs us to sing these Psalms. They lack our individual voices

But the Psalms do contain so much, and I’m continually surprised (when I slow down and read the Psalms aloud).

In Psalm 62, after a beautiful few lines of praise, this Psalm says in Verse 10: “Put no confidence in extortion, and set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, do not set your heart on them. “

I don’t know how much global economics involves extortion, but I can’t imagine extortion not being involved at times in how people and nations do business with each other and sometimes I’ve worked for employers who knew I was desperate for a job. But, as the Psalm tells us, put no confidence in extortion. We cannot depend on thriving from the benefits of extortion or allowing ourselves or others to suffer under the effects of extortion.

God liberates us again and again from ourselves.

Pray for peace (and justice)

(brother) Bill

 

Psalm 62:5-12

5For God alone my soul waits in silence, for my hope is from him.

6He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.

7On God rests my deliverance and my honor; my mighty rock, my refuge is in God.

8Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah

9Those of low estate are but a breath, those of high estate are a delusion; in the balances they go up; they are together lighter than a breath.

10Put no confidence in extortion, and set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, do not set your heart on them.

11Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God,

12and steadfast love belongs to you, O Lord. For you repay to all according to their work.

Jeremiah 20:14-18

14Cursed be the day on which I was born! The day when my mother bore me, let it not be blessed! 15Cursed be the man who brought the news to my father, saying, “A child is born to you, a son,” making him very glad. 16Let that man be like the cities that the Lord overthrew without pity; let him hear a cry in the morning and an alarm at noon, 17because he did not kill me in the womb; so my mother would have been my grave, and her womb forever great. 18Why did I come forth from the womb to see toil and sorrow, and spend my days in shame?

Luke 10:13-16

13“Woe to you, Chorazin! Woe to you, Bethsaida! For if the deeds of power done in you had been done in Tyre and Sidon, they would have repented long ago, sitting in sackcloth and ashes. 14But at the judgment it will be more tolerable for Tyre and Sidon than for you. 15And you, Capernaum, will you be exalted to heaven? No, you will be brought down to Hades. 16“Whoever listens to you listens to me, and whoever rejects you rejects me, and whoever rejects me rejects the one who sent me.”

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

