Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

English: child Jesus with the virgin Mary, wit...

Image via Wikipedia

 

This blog comes to you from the people at Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

By Prayer Restored 022912

Lamentations is, well, a serious lamentation! Sometimes it seems like the Old Testament is full of such lamentations. But we forget too easily!

Life is filled with what sometimes are horrible events, disasters and dis-ease. And the Old Testament is a record, up to a certain point in history, of our religious ancestors, the Jews, and their persecution because of ethnicity, religion, prosperity and the strategic position of Jerusalem along trade routes.

But we should not be so limited. If we are to repeat and record the lamentations of people who have suffered greatly, the American Indian, the Australian aboriginal peoples, and countless others should be remembered. Misery is not rare.

The difference for us is that the Lamentation prayer is answered, in this case by the words of Jesus in John 5 as Jesus tells us he is the son of God, and what the father does, he does. As the father heals and resurrects, Jesus heals and resurrects. We have the gift of life.

Pray for our church today and your church, and pray for peace,

(brother) Bill

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Pray with us!

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog! Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 38

Lamentations 5:1-22

John 5:19-29

 

Psalm 38

1O Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger, or discipline me in your wrath.

2For your arrows have sunk into me, and your hand has come down on me.

3There is no soundness in my flesh because of your indignation; there is no health in my bones because of my sin.

4For my iniquities have gone over my head; they weigh like a burden too heavy for me.

5My wounds grow foul and fester because of my foolishness;

6I am utterly bowed down and prostrate; all day long I go around mourning.

7For my loins are filled with burning, and there is no soundness in my flesh.

8I am utterly spent and crushed; I groan because of the tumult of my heart.

9O Lord, all my longing is known to you; my sighing is not hidden from you.

10My heart throbs, my strength fails me; as for the light of my eyes—it also has gone from me.

11My friends and companions stand aloof from my affliction, and my neighbors stand far off.

12Those who seek my life lay their snares; those who seek to hurt me speak of ruin, and meditate treachery all day long.

13But I am like the deaf, I do not hear; like the mute, who cannot speak.

14Truly, I am like one who does not hear, and in whose mouth is no retort.

15But it is for you, O Lord, that I wait; it is you, O Lord my God, who will answer.

16For I pray, “Only do not let them rejoice over me, those who boast against me when my foot slips.”

17For I am ready to fall, and my pain is ever with me.

18I confess my iniquity; I am sorry for my sin.

19Those who are my foes without cause are mighty, and many are those who hate me wrongfully.

20Those who render me evil for good are my adversaries because I follow after good.

21Do not forsake me, O Lord; O my God, do not be far from me;

22make haste to help me, O Lord, my salvation.

Lamentations 5:1-22

5Remember, O Lord, what has befallen us; look, and see our disgrace! 2Our inheritance has been turned over to strangers, our homes to aliens. 3We have become orphans, fatherless; our mothers are like widows. 4We must pay for the water we drink; the wood we get must be bought. 5With a yoke on our necks we are hard driven; we are weary, we are given no rest. 6We have made a pact with Egypt and Assyria, to get enough bread. 7Our ancestors sinned; they are no more, and we bear their iniquities. 8Slaves rule over us; there is no one to deliver us from their hand. 9We get our bread at the peril of our lives, because of the sword in the wilderness. 10Our skin is black as an oven from the scorching heat of famine. 11Women are raped in Zion, virgins in the towns of Judah. 12Princes are hung up by their hands; no respect is shown to the elders. 13Young men are compelled to grind, and boys stagger under loads of wood. 14The old men have left the city gate, the young men their music. 15The joy of our hearts has ceased; our dancing has been turned to mourning. 16The crown has fallen from our head; woe to us, for we have sinned!

17Because of this our hearts are sick, because of these things our eyes have grown dim: 18because of Mount Zion, which lies desolate; jackals prowl over it. 19But you, O Lord, reign forever; your throne endures to all generations. 20Why have you forgotten us completely? Why have you forsaken us these many days? 21Restore us to yourself, O Lord, that we may be restored; renew our days as of old— 22unless you have utterly rejected us, and are angry with us beyond measure.

John 5:19-29

19Jesus said to them, “Very truly, I tell you, the Son can do nothing on his own, but only what he sees the Father doing; for whatever the Father does, the Son does likewise. 20The Father loves the Son and shows him all that he himself is doing; and he will show him greater works than these, so that you will be astonished. 21Indeed, just as the Father raises the dead and gives them life, so also the Son gives life to whomever he wishes. 22The Father judges no one but has given all judgment to the Son, 23so that all may honor the Son just as they honor the Father. Anyone who does not honor the Son does not honor the Father who sent him. 24Very truly, I tell you, anyone who hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life, and does not come under judgment, but has passed from death to life. 25“Very truly, I tell you, the hour is coming, and is now here, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God, and those who hear will live. 26For just as the Father has life in himself, so he has granted the Son also to have life in himself; 27and he has given him authority to execute judgment, because he is the Son of Man. 28Do not be astonished at this; for the hour is coming when all who are in their graves will hear his voice 29and will come out—those who have done good, to the resurrection of life, and those who have done evil, to the resurrection of condemnation.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

