Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

 

The One–Straw Revolution (English re-presentat...
The One–Straw Revolution (English re-presentation). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Safe Houses, Quiet Gardens 090712

 This blog comes to you from the people at Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Today’s Scriptures Click the following links to read today’s scriptures or scroll to the very bottom of this blog post for those scriptures also:

 

Psalm 146 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20146&version=MSG

Isaiah 32:1-8 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Isaiah%2032:1-8&version=MSG

Romans 2:12-16 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Romans%202:12-16&version=MSG

Safe Houses, Quiet Gardens 090712

More than once in the past few weeks, the biblical paraphrase into more modern language by Eugene H. Peterson has provided the title for the daily blog. Today’s selection from Isaiah is subtitled ‘Safe Houses, Quiet Gardens’.

In the Old Testament, and in its traditions, which were continued by Jesus (and also by Muhammed in The Koran, I think), the idea of a god who calls for safety and justice comes to all of humanity. Isaiah is really my favorite ‘New Testament’ author because it really begins explicitly to describe what Jesus called the people of Israel to return to in their faith.

By coincidence, early this morning I was reminded of a quote from Masanobu Fukuoka (The One-Straw Revolution’s author) who observed that there was enough land in Japan for every family to farm 1.25 acres, and to grow enough to feed themselves. Isaiah’s call for safe houses and quiet gardens means something else in this context—it is also a call for safe and secure homes, and a safe and secure food supply for families, worldwide.

Of all the things that Jesus asks for us, and leads us to—this seems like a key issue—to provide the poor and oppressed with safety and food.

Pray for peace,

Bill

 

Prayer List: Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Pray with us!

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog! Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 146

Isaiah 32:1-8

Romans 2:12-16

Psalm 146

The Message (MSG)

146 1-2 Hallelujah!
O my soul, praise God!
All my life long I’ll praise God,
singing songs to my God as long as I live.

3-9 Don’t put your life in the hands of experts
who know nothing of life, of salvation life.
Mere humans don’t have what it takes;
when they die, their projects die with them.
Instead, get help from the God of Jacob,
put your hope in God and know real blessing!
God made sky and soil,
sea and all the fish in it.
He always does what he says—
he defends the wronged,
he feeds the hungry.
God frees prisoners—
he gives sight to the blind,
he lifts up the fallen.
God loves good people, protects strangers,
takes the side of orphans and widows,
but makes short work of the wicked.

10 God’s in charge—always.
Zion’s God is God for good!
Hallelujah!

Isaiah 32:1-8

The Message (MSG)

Safe Houses, Quiet Gardens

32 1-8 But look! A king will rule in the right way,
and his leaders will carry out justice.
Each one will stand as a shelter from high winds,
provide safe cover in stormy weather.
Each will be cool running water in parched land,
a huge granite outcrop giving shade in the desert.
Anyone who looks will see,
anyone who listens will hear.
The impulsive will make sound decisions,
the tongue-tied will speak with eloquence.
No more will fools become celebrities,
nor crooks be rewarded with fame.
For fools are fools and that’s that,
thinking up new ways to do mischief.
They leave a wake of wrecked lives
and lies about God,
Turning their backs on the homeless hungry,
ignoring those dying of thirst in the streets.
And the crooks? Underhanded sneaks they are,
inventive in sin and scandal,
Exploiting the poor with scams and lies,
unmoved by the victimized poor.
But those who are noble make noble plans,
and stand for what is noble.

Romans 2:12-16

The Message (MSG)

12-13 If you sin without knowing what you’re doing, God takes that into account. But if you sin knowing full well what you’re doing, that’s a different story entirely. Merely hearing God’s law is a waste of your time if you don’t do what he commands. Doing, not hearing, is what makes the difference with God.

14-16 When outsiders who have never heard of God’s law follow it more or less by instinct, they confirm its truth by their obedience. They show that God’s law is not something alien, imposed on us from without, but woven into the very fabric of our creation. There is something deep within them that echoes God’s yes and no, right and wrong. Their response to God’s yes and no will become public knowledge on the day God makes his final decision about every man and woman. The Message from God that I proclaim through Jesus Christ takes into account all these differences.

The Message (MSG)

Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

 

Comments on: "Safe Houses, Quiet Gardens 090712" (4)

  1. Micah 4:3-4 has a similar sentiment:

    From THE MESSAGE:

    He will teach us how to live.
    We’ll know how to live God’s way.”
    True teaching will issue from Zion,
    God’s revelation from Jerusalem.
    He’ll establish justice in the rabble of nations
    and settle disputes in faraway places.
    They’ll trade in their swords for shovels,
    their spears for rakes and hoes.
    Nations will quit fighting each other,
    quit learning how to kill one another.
    Each man will sit under his own shade tree,
    each woman in safety will tend her own garden.
    God-of-the-Angel-Armies says so,
    and he means what he says.

  2. Bill, I love that you use The Message. I bet I have ten different Bibles (if not more!) in various translations all over my house. They each have been more beneficial to me at different times in my life.

    I cut my teeth on KJV Psalms and still love the ‘thees’ and ‘thous’ that are so poetic. As a teen and young adult it was the NIV that helped me to take in the Word in more modern day language. As I grew the Amplified Bible took on an important role in helping me fully grasp scriptures that had eluded me. I have no idea how many times I’ve read the Bible and it wouldn’t matter if I did know because it is the LIVING Word of God and I daily see new truth and inspiration and love there. Sometimes I think, “How in the world could I have possibly read the Bible for this many years and today I am just now seeing this?!?!” But isn’t that the way God works? =)

    A few years ago I came to be in possession of a The Message New Testament and I inhaled it. I’ve read it multiple times and while I wouldn’t say I am in 100% agreement with every single word and concept, I would say for the most part I am good with it. Just lately I have been re-reading the Bible through starting in Genesis in The Message, having now added a complete work to my library. I love it.

    It’s my personal opinion that I probably would not start a new believer or someone new to Bible study in The Message but now that I have a good many years of scripture under my belt I can relish it and enjoy it as much as a NY Times Best seller. I get lost in the story and the informality and just absorb the Old Testament Bible stories. It fascinates me and opens my eyes to so many things I hadn’t seen before. Like you it has inspired so many of my posts.

    I have a minor in philosophy and I have studied eastern religion, different doctrines, cults, and the like. What is the old adage? Know thine enemy? I have always felt that knowing what I do not believe is just as important as what I do believe. I cross reference my Bible reading many times with Jewish commentators (who better to know the Old Testament?), Muslims, and philosophers. I love that you do that also.

    I wish more people realized, whether of the Christian faith or not, that the Bible is not only an important read for a well rounded, educated person, it’s downright fascinating! It is provocative, scandalous, and intriguing. What other book encompasses almost every genre of literature in one volume? Mystery, romance, drama, espionage, action adventure, a little comedy here and there (remember when Elijah told the prophets of Baal to pray harder maybe he couldn’t hear them because he was in the men’s room? hehe) love, murder, family, government, where does the list end?

    The Bible is an awesome book!

    • Thank you for your comments. I’m glad you enjoyed our use of The Message in our daily Bible reading. And I just had the opportunity to visit your blog at sharetheverse.wordpress.com Great work!

      I hope you’ll subscribe and be in touch with us here at Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO.

      Peace and blessings,
      Bill

Leave a Reply

