Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

 

Trying to Figure It Out 103112

 

This blog comes to you from the people at Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Today’s Scriptures Click the following links to read today’s scriptures or scroll to the very bottom of this blog post for those scriptures also. Lectionary Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Psalm 119:17-24 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20119:17-24&version=MSG

Jeremiah 33:1-11http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Jeremiah%2033:1-11&version=MSG

Matthew 20:29-34 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew%2020:29-34&version=MSG

 

Trying to Figure It Out 103112

 

Among my many friends who are not Christians, and I have several of these folks, I think they believe they don’t want to be Christians because they don’t want to be told how the universe and reality work. Instead they wish to figure it out.

 

I understand what they are saying, and I agree. There’s no such thing as an easy and ready way to ‘figure it all out’. In our short lifetimes, our short part of the lifecycle, there is no neat, boxed up version of reality and truth that is the complete final answer.

 

But there is something eternal and meaningful about God, and Jesus and the Holy Spirit that helps me along the way to ‘figuring it all out’. In fact, I don’t think I could take it if I all of a sudden could see again, like the blind men in Matthew 20. Instead, like Jeremiah 33, there is so much one can live through and with help figure out. Much, much of what I see and feel come from these God-given things I could not figure out on my own.

 

And day by day, as God blesses, we do begin to see, and we do begin to see so much that we could not figure out on our own.

 

Read your Bible, tell your friends about Jesus, and if necessary, point them to this blog.

 

Pray for peace.

Bill

 

Prayer List: Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Pray with us!

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Subscribe to our blog! Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

Psalm 119:17-24

The Message (MSG)

17-24 Be generous with me and I’ll live a full life;
not for a minute will I take my eyes off your road.
Open my eyes so I can see
what you show me of your miracle-wonders.
I’m a stranger in these parts;
give me clear directions.
My soul is starved and hungry, ravenous!—
insatiable for your nourishing commands.
And those who think they know so much,
ignoring everything you tell them—let them have it!
Don’t let them mock and humiliate me;
I’ve been careful to do just what you said.
While bad neighbors maliciously gossip about me,
I’m absorbed in pondering your wise counsel.
Yes, your sayings on life are what give me delight;
I listen to them as to good neighbors!

Jeremiah 33:1-11

The Message (MSG)

Things You Could Never Figure Out on Your Own

33 While Jeremiah was still locked up in jail, a second Message from God was given to him:

2-3 “This is God’s Message, the God who made earth, made it livable and lasting, known everywhere as God: ‘Call to me and I will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own.’

4-5 “This is what God, the God of Israel, has to say about what’s going on in this city, about the homes of both people and kings that have been demolished, about all the ravages of war and the killing by the Chaldeans, and about the streets littered with the dead bodies of those killed because of my raging anger—about all that’s happened because the evil actions in this city have turned my stomach in disgust.

6-9 “But now take another look. I’m going to give this city a thorough renovation, working a true healing inside and out. I’m going to show them life whole, life brimming with blessings. I’ll restore everything that was lost to Judah and Jerusalem. I’ll build everything back as good as new. I’ll scrub them clean from the dirt they’ve done against me. I’ll forgive everything they’ve done wrong, forgive all their rebellions. And Jerusalem will be a center of joy and praise and glory for all the countries on earth. They’ll get reports on all the good I’m doing for her. They’ll be in awe of the blessings I am pouring on her.

10-11 “Yes, God’s Message: ‘You’re going to look at this place, these empty and desolate towns of Judah and streets of Jerusalem, and say, “A wasteland. Unlivable. Not even a dog could live here.” But the time is coming when you’re going to hear laughter and celebration, marriage festivities, people exclaiming, “Thank God-of-the-Angel-Armies. He’s so good! His love never quits,” as they bring thank offerings into God’s Temple. I’ll restore everything that was lost in this land. I’ll make everything as good as new.’ I, God, say so.

Matthew 20:29-34

The Message (MSG)

29-31 As they were leaving Jericho, a huge crowd followed. Suddenly they came upon two blind men sitting alongside the road. When they heard it was Jesus passing, they cried out, “Master, have mercy on us! Mercy, Son of David!” The crowd tried to hush them up, but they got all the louder, crying, “Master, have mercy on us! Mercy, Son of David!”

32 Jesus stopped and called over, “What do you want from me?”

33 They said, “Master, we want our eyes opened. We want to see!”

34 Deeply moved, Jesus touched their eyes. They had their sight back that very instant, and joined the procession.

Matthew

Matthew (Photo credit: Missional Volunteer)

Leave a Reply

