Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Corcovado jesus

Corcovado jesus (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Philippi

Philippi (Photo credit: wallygrom)

English: Marcus Borg speaking in Mansfield Col...

English: Marcus Borg speaking in Mansfield College chapel. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This blog comes to you from the people at Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Today’s Scriptures Click the following links to read today’s scriptures or scroll to the very bottom of this blog post for those scriptures also. Lectionary Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Psalm 27 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%2027&version=MSG

Genesis 14:17-24 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%2014:17-24&version=MSG

Philippians 3:17-20 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Philippians%203:17-20&version=MSG

 

The Dead Body/The Glorious Body 032213

 The theologian Marcus Borg makes the point that we sometimes have to distinguish between what the New Testament says about or is by Jesus compared to what the New Testament expresses about 1st Century AD male, Palestinian, Jewish culture. Today’s gospel from Philippians may be an example of this: Philippians 3 says: “….Jesus Christ, …. will transform our earthy bodies into glorious bodies like his own”

This reminds one, in the words of Paul, to leaving the earthly body behind in favor of a new body. But Jesus’ miracles were often about healing this earthly body, more than just replacing the old with a new, superior model. And although I can see and hear Jesus rejecting the world, I also can see and hear Jesus loving the earth, and all earth’s creations, including us.

Should we follow Jesus’ example of healing the body, or Paul’s idea of casting off the body?

Pray for peace,

Pastor Bill

Prayer List: Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Pray with us!

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

 

Subscribe to our blog!Delivery daily by e-mail.Click the button on the right.

Psalm 27

The Message (MSG)

A David Psalm

27 Light, space, zest—
that’s God!
So, with him on my side I’m fearless,
afraid of no one and nothing.

2     When vandal hordes ride down
ready to eat me alive,
Those bullies and toughs
fall flat on their faces.

3 When besieged,
I’m calm as a baby.
When all hell breaks loose,
I’m collected and cool.

4 I’m asking God for one thing,
only one thing:
To live with him in his house.


my whole life long.
I’ll contemplate his beauty;
I’ll study at his feet.5 That’s the only quiet, secure place
in a noisy world,
The perfect getaway,
far from the buzz of traffic.

6 God holds me head and shoulders
above all who try to pull me down.
I’m headed for his place to offer

anthems
that will raise the roof!
Already I’m singing God-songs;
I’m making music to God.7-9

Listen, God, I’m calling at the top of my lungs:
“Be good to me! Answer me!”
When my heart whispered, “Seek God,”
my whole being replied,
“I’m seeking him!”
Don’t hide from me now!

9-10 You’ve always been right there for me;
don’t turn your back on me now.
Don’t throw me out, don’t abandon me;
you’ve always kept the door open.
My father and mother walked out and left me,
but God took me in.

11-12 Point me down your highway, God;
direct me along a well-lighted street;
show my enemies whose side you’re on.
Don’t throw me to the dogs,
those liars who are out to get me,
filling the air with their threats.

13-14 I’m sure now I’ll see God’s goodness
in the exuberant earth.
Stay with God!
Take heart. Don’t quit.
I’ll say it again:
Stay with God.

Genesis 14:17-24

The Message (MSG)

17-20 After Abram returned from defeating Kedorlaomer and his allied kings, the king of Sodom came out to greet him in the Valley of Shaveh, the King’s Valley. Melchizedek, king of Salem, brought out bread and wine—he was priest of The High God—and blessed him:

Blessed be Abram by The High God,
Creator of Heaven and Earth.
And blessed be The High God,
who handed your enemies over to you.

Abram gave him a tenth of all the recovered plunder.

21 The king of Sodom said to Abram, “Give me back the people but keep all the plunder for yourself.”

22-24 But Abram told the king of Sodom, “I swear to God, The High God, Creator of Heaven and Earth, this solemn oath, that I’ll take nothing from you, not so much as a thread or a shoestring. I’m not going to have you go around saying, ‘I made Abram rich.’ Nothing for me other than what the young men ate and the share of the men who went with me, Aner, Eshcol, and Mamre; they’re to get their share of the plunder.”

Philippians 3:17-21

The Message (MSG)

17-19 Stick with me, friends. Keep track of those you see running this same course, headed for this same goal. There are many out there taking other paths, choosing other goals, and trying to get you to go along with them. I’ve warned you of them many times; sadly, I’m having to do it again. All they want is easy street. They hate Christ’s Cross. But easy street is a dead-end street. Those who live there make their bellies their gods; belches are their praise; all they can think of is their appetites.

20-21 But there’s far more to life for us. We’re citizens of high heaven! We’re waiting the arrival of the Savior, the Master, Jesus Christ, who will transform our earthy bodies into glorious bodies like his own. He’ll make us beautiful and whole with the same powerful skill by which he is putting everything as it should be, under and around him.

Leave a Reply

