Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Holding the Bible 041113

Illuminated Manuscript, Chapter 53 of the Book...

Illuminated Manuscript, Chapter 53 of the Book of Isaiah, Christ in Heaven; Agnus Dei in quatrefoil, Walters Manuscript W.842, fol. 8r (Photo credit: Walters Art Museum Illuminated Manuscripts)

A bible from 1859.

A bible from 1859. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bible

Bible (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

Holding the Bible 041113

This blog comes to you from the people at Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Today’s Scriptures Click the following links to read today’s scriptures or scroll to the very bottom of this blog post for those scriptures also. Lectionary Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

Psalm 126 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20126&version=MSG

Isaiah 43:1-7 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Isaiah%2043:1-7%20&version=MSG

Philippians 2:19-24 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Philippians%202:19-24&version=MSG

Holding the Bible 041113

It is maybe a silly thing, but I read the Bible differently when I have a tangible book in my hands, rather than the scriptures as printed or displayed on a computer screen. I realize also that millions of people have been led to God, or have come to know Jesus because of the Christian use of the internet, but I still prefer a book I can hold open before me, or lay open on a table.

I could even say that I prefer a soft leather cover, to a worn cheap paper cover, but I don’t prefer one over the other, and when the book is open, what is inside pulls me in, past the covers of the book.

But somehow, we need to remember to pray 5 or 6 times a day, at any rate, and read our Bible, however printed and bound.

Pray for peace today,

Pastor Bill

Prayer List: Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Pray with us!

We are praying as a church, and attempting to follow the centuries’ old tradition of praying with other Christians three times a day. We are following the prayer liturgy at www.commonprayer.net

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO Permission is granted for one-time non-commercial use with proper attribution.

Subscribe to our blog!Delivery daily by e-mail.Click the button on the right.

Psalm 126

The Message (MSG)

A Pilgrim Song

126 1-3 It seemed like a dream, too good to be true,
when God returned Zion’s exiles.
We laughed, we sang,
we couldn’t believe our good fortune.
We were the talk of the nations—
“God was wonderful to them!”
God was wonderful to us;
we are one happy people.

4-6 And now, God, do it again—
bring rains to our drought-stricken lives
So those who planted their crops in despair
will shout hurrahs at the harvest,
So those who went off with heavy hearts
will come home laughing, with armloads of blessing.

Isaiah 43:1-7

The Message (MSG)

When You’re Between a Rock and a Hard Place

43 1-4 But now, God’s Message,
the God who made you in the first place, Jacob,
the One who got you started, Israel:
“Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.
I’ve called your name. You’re mine.
When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you.
When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down.
When you’re between a rock and a hard place,
it won’t be a dead end—
Because I am God, your personal God,
The Holy of Israel, your Savior.
I paid a huge price for you:
all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in!
That’s how much you mean to me!
That’s how much I love you!
I’d sell off the whole world to get you back,
trade the creation just for you.

5-7 “So don’t be afraid: I’m with you.
I’ll round up all your scattered children,
pull them in from east and west.
I’ll send orders north and south:
‘Send them back.
Return my sons from distant lands,
my daughters from faraway places.
I want them back, every last one who bears my name,
every man, woman, and child
Whom I created for my glory,
yes, personally formed and made each one.’”

Philippians 2:19-24

The Message (MSG)

19-24 I plan (according to Jesus’ plan) to send Timothy to you very soon so he can bring back all the news of you he can gather. Oh, how that will do my heart good! I have no one quite like Timothy. He is loyal, and genuinely concerned for you. Most people around here are looking out for themselves, with little concern for the things of Jesus. But you know yourselves that Timothy’s the real thing. He’s been a devoted son to me as together we’ve delivered the Message. As soon as I see how things are going to fall out for me here, I plan to send him off. And then I’m hoping and praying to be right on his heels.

Leave a Reply

