Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Meltdown 062411

Anthonis van Dyck - Die Ausgießung des Heilige...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

 

Scripture follow the meditation and thoughts.

 

Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the left.

 

Psalm 89:1-4, 15-18

Jeremiah 25:8-14

Galatians 5:7-12

 

Meltdown  062411

 

Many people believe that people become Christian because of a meltdown—an emotional or physical crisis that leads to a cataclysmic change. But it is not always so. Sometimes a person believes their life is going according to plan and a smooth ride is foreseen but Paul speaks of the other situations when 7You were running well; who prevented you from obeying the truth?’ (from Galatians 5 below).

 

Sometimes a person begins to consider God and to consider Christ, not because of an emergency, when prayer seeks the help of God and we ask Jesus to intercede but just because of quiet moments, when the Holy Spirit speaks to us, gently and with great sensitivity, and we are touched deeply by it.

 

In this busy world maybe we can spread the message of God and Jesus by simply asking people to seek those quiet moments. The Holy Spirit will do the rest.

 

Pray for peace, and pray for the Holy Spirit to come.

 

Peace,

(brother) Bill

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Psalm 89

1I will sing of your steadfast love, O Lord, forever; with my mouth I will proclaim your faithfulness to all generations.

2I declare that your steadfast love is established forever; your faithfulness is as firm as the heavens.

3You said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one, I have sworn to my servant David:

4‘I will establish your descendants forever, and build your throne for all generations.’” Selah

15Happy are the people who know the festal shout, who walk, O Lord, in the light of your countenance;

16they exult in your name all day long, and extol your righteousness.

17For you are the glory of their strength; by your favor our horn is exalted.

18For our shield belongs to the Lord, our king to the Holy One of Israel.

Jeremiah 25:8-14

8Therefore thus says the Lord of hosts: Because you have not obeyed my words, 9I am going to send for all the tribes of the north, says the Lord, even for King Nebuchadrezzar of Babylon, my servant, and I will bring them against this land and its inhabitants, and against all these nations around; I will utterly destroy them, and make them an object of horror and of hissing, and an everlasting disgrace. 10And I will banish from them the sound of mirth and the sound of gladness, the voice of the bridegroom and the voice of the bride, the sound of the millstones and the light of the lamp. 11This whole land shall become a ruin and a waste, and these nations shall serve the king of Babylon seventy years. 12Then after seventy years are completed, I will punish the king of Babylon and that nation, the land of the Chaldeans, for their iniquity, says the Lord, making the land an everlasting waste. 13I will bring upon that land all the words that I have uttered against it, everything written in this book, which Jeremiah prophesied against all the nations. 14For many nations and great kings shall make slaves of them also; and I will repay them according to their deeds and the work of their hands.

Galatians 5:7-12

7You were running well; who prevented you from obeying the truth? 8Such persuasion does not come from the one who calls you. 9A little yeast leavens the whole batch of dough. 10I am confident about you in the Lord that you will not think otherwise. But whoever it is that is confusing you will pay the penalty. 11But my friends, why am I still being persecuted if I am still preaching circumcision? In that case the offense of the cross has been removed. 12I wish those who unsettle you would castrate themselves!

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

Comments on: "Meltdown 062411" (2)

  1. Hi brother Bill – great post! I have known many people who have come to Christ through a crisis in their life, but I’ve also known many who, like you said, came to Christ through ‘quiet times’… particularly children. But, as you stated, it is the Holy Spirit who does the ‘saving’ and He knows what it is going to take; for He wishes none to perish but all to come to saving knowledge of the Jesus! Blessings to you in Jesus’ name!

Leave a comment