Lectionary Scriptures and Comments

Waiting In Ephraim 100511

Dispute of Jesus and the Pharisees over tribut...

Image via Wikipedia

This blog comes to you from the people at

Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

www.peacemennonitechurch.net

Peace Mennonite Church keeps a prayer list for those in need. If you need prayer, or want to e-mail our pastor, e-mail billd @ peacemennonitechurch.net (Take out the extra spaces to use this e-mail—the spaces confuse spam generators).

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Peace Mennonite Church of Columbia, MO

Scriptures follow the meditation and thoughts. Scriptures for the day selected by http://www.commontexts.org/

 

Subscribe to our blog. Delivery daily by e-mail. Click the button on the right.

 

Psalm 119:49-56

Song of Solomon 8:5-14

John 11:45-57

 

Waiting In Ephraim 100511

 

Each time I read a section of scripture, it opens anew to me. In today’s selection from John I noticed that when Jesus became aware that Caiaphas that Jesus was to be executed, Jesus went to Ephraim and waited for the Passover festival.

 

I can’t help but wonder if modern Christians, or is it post-modern Christians are like Jesus, waiting in Ephraim for the right time.

 

But what are we waiting for? Are we waiting to feed the poor, to sell fancy churches and give farmland to the poor instead, and housing for the poor and homeless? We might recall that the number of people in America with second and third houses is equal to the number of homeless people.

 

What are we waiting for? Is it time for the Kingdom of God to come to humanity and earth?

 

Pray for us all, we need the help of God and each other!

(brother) Bill

 

 

 

 

Psalm 119:49-56

49Remember your word to your servant, in which you have made me hope.

50This is my comfort in my distress, that your promise gives me life.

51The arrogant utterly deride me, but I do not turn away from your law.

52When I think of your ordinances from of old, I take comfort, O Lord.

53Hot indignation seizes me because of the wicked, those who forsake your law.

54Your statutes have been my songs wherever I make my home.

55I remember your name in the night, O Lord, and keep your law.

56This blessing has fallen to me, for I have kept your precepts.

Song of Solomon 8:5-14

5Who is that coming up from the wilderness, leaning upon her beloved? Under the apple tree I awakened you. There your mother was in labor with you; there she who bore you was in labor. 6Set me as a seal upon your heart, as a seal upon your arm; for love is strong as death, passion fierce as the grave. Its flashes are flashes of fire, a raging flame. 7Many waters cannot quench love, neither can floods drown it. If one offered for love all the wealth of his house, it would be utterly scorned.

8We have a little sister, and she has no breasts. What shall we do for our sister, on the day when she is spoken for? 9If she is a wall, we will build upon her a battlement of silver; but if she is a door, we will enclose her with boards of cedar. 10I was a wall, and my breasts were like towers; then I was in his eyes as one who brings peace. 11Solomon had a vineyard at Baal-hamon; he entrusted the vineyard to keepers; each one was to bring for its fruit a thousand pieces of silver. 12My vineyard, my very own, is for myself; you, O Solomon, may have the thousand, and the keepers of the fruit two hundred!

13O you who dwell in the gardens, my companions are listening for your voice; let me hear it. 14Make haste, my beloved, and be like a gazelle or a young stag upon the mountains of spices!

John 11:45-57

45Many of the Jews therefore, who had come with Mary and had seen what Jesus did, believed in him. 46But some of them went to the Pharisees and told them what he had done. 47So the chief priests and the Pharisees called a meeting of the council, and said, “What are we to do? This man is performing many signs. 48If we let him go on like this, everyone will believe in him, and the Romans will come and destroy both our holy place and our nation.” 49But one of them, Caiaphas, who was high priest that year, said to them, “You know nothing at all! 50You do not understand that it is better for you to have one man die for the people than to have the whole nation destroyed.” 51He did not say this on his own, but being high priest that year he prophesied that Jesus was about to die for the nation, 52and not for the nation only, but to gather into one the dispersed children of God. 53So from that day on they planned to put him to death. 54Jesus therefore no longer walked about openly among the Jews, but went from there to a town called Ephraim in the region near the wilderness; and he remained there with the disciples. 55Now the Passover of the Jews was near, and many went up from the country to Jerusalem before the Passover to purify themselves. 56They were looking for Jesus and were asking one another as they stood in the temple, “What do you think? Surely he will not come to the festival, will he?” 57Now the chief priests and the Pharisees had given orders that anyone who knew where Jesus was should let them know, so that they might arrest him.

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a comment